Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

John Paul Carter Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.097
Scope and Contents This collection consists of mostly class notes of John Paul Carter while he was a student at the College of William and Mary from 1941 to 1944. The collection also includes papers relating to the Class of 1944 50th Reunion at William and Mary in May 1994, including an address given at a memorial service commemorating soldiers who died in World War II. Copies of an address given by Max Lerner entitled The Constitution and the Crisis State and a 1943-1944 William and Mary Course Catalogue are...
Dates: 1941-1944; Majority of material found in 1941-1944
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James H. Critchfield Papers

 Class
Identifier: MS 00209
Scope and Contents Primary source documents, research materials and drafts for James Critchfield's book, "Partners at the Creation the Men behind Postwar Germany's Defense and Intelligence Establishments." Includes information on Germans imprisoned by the Allies, and on De-Nazification, for which Critchfield conducted interviews; also included are two copies of a booklet about a camps for detainees (“Camp 71”). The illustrated booklet is written in German and one English translation insert is provided. Further...
Dates: 1941-2003
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Faulkner Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Lit F27
Scope and Contents Material collected by Dr. Adwin Wigfall Green of the University of Mississippi for preparation of his book written with James W. Webb, William Faulkner of Oxford. Included are letters to Green by Faulkner's daughter Jill Faulkner Summers; Jack Stone, a childhood friend of Faulkner; Dorothy Williams, a friend of Faulkner; and Murry Falkner, William Faulkner's brother; photostats of several letters, advertisements and a speech written by Faulkner; newspaper clippings; and periodical...
Dates: 1946-1965
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lawrence I'Anson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1938-1983
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert E. Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L52
Scope and Contents

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

Dates: 1829-1937
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Taylor McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M13
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1887-1953, of Virginia Taylor McCormick, Norfolk, Va. poet, literary critic, essayist, lecturer, and editor of The Lyric magazine, 1921-1929. Includes manuscript and printed poems; essays; lectures; diaries, and correspondence with other poets and writers. Correspondents include Franklin Pierce Adams, Lady Astor, Lord Beaverbrook, Gamaliel Bradford, Van Wyck Brooks, Walter de la Mare, Ellen Glasgow, Rupert Hughes, Amy Lowell, H. L. Mencken and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.

Dates: 1873-1957
Found in: Special Collections Research Center